Students are considered tardy at 8:05 a.m.

School dismisses at 3:05 p.m.

Breakfast begins at 7:25 a.m. and is over promptly at 7:50 a.m. Breakfast is free for all students at Barling Elementary.

(No students should be at school before 7:20 am.)

Lunch times are as follows:

Pre-K from 11:00-12:00
Grades K and 1st @ 11:10-12:10
Grades 2nd, 3rd, and 4th @ 11:50-12:50
Grades 5 and 6 @ 12:30-1:30

    Barling PRIDE Newsletter  Barling PRIDE Newsletter page 2


Click here if robot is not working for a Zoom Meeting.


We are so very proud of the relationship that we have with our students, parents and community.


Barling Bobcat Heroes

The Barling Elementary School Wall of Honor--our "Bobcat Heroes" was established to recognize excellence and achievements of Barling Elementary former students, educators, volunteers and friends of the school.  The objectives of the Wall of Honor are threefold:

  • Provide role models for students by honoring former students who have distinguished themselves
  • Create excitement about education
  • Honor those educators and friends of education who have made extraordinary contributions to education at Barling Elementary School
Bobcat Heroes Wall of Honor Receipents
2014: Rod Coleman
2014: Hal Smith
2015: Dr. Vinh Chung
2015: Billy Joe Shopfner
2015: Lilly Bugg-Wingfield


2016 Barling Elementary Spelling Bee Champion

Mr. Kevin Nguyen, 6th Grade

Kevin will represent Barling Elementary at the Sebastian County Spelling Bee on January 21st. 

North Central Association Commission on Accreditation and School Improvement
• Accredited School, Barling Elementary

Arkansas Department of Education
• Arkansas Blue Ribbon School 2000-2001
• STAR School 2002

Arkansas Parent Teacher Association
• Children’s Champion Award 2001
• Safety Award 2003

* Partnership of Distinction Award Barling Elementary with First National Bank Barling, 2007-2008
* Partnership of Distinction Award Barling Elementary with CV’s Family Foods, 2006-2007
* Bud Jackson Team of Distinction Award (for all of our Partners), 2005-2006
* Bud Jackson Team of Distinction Award (for all of our Partners), 2009-2010
* Norma Shaffer Partnership of the Year Award ERC with Barling Elementary, 2000-2001 and 2004-2005.
*Bud Jackson Team of Distinction Award (for all of our Partners) 2009-2010    


This School is accredited by the North Central Association and the Arkansas Department of Education.

Copyright © 2018 Fort Smith Public Schools   |  479-785-2501
PO Box 1948 | 3205 Jenny Lind Road | Fort Smith, Arkansas 72902

In compliance with federal nondiscrimination laws, the Fort Smith Public School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, religion, genetic information, or disability in its employment or educational practices. If you have questions regarding the professional qualifications of your child's teachers or paraprofessionals, you are encouraged to ask Mr. Martin Mahan, Executive Director of Human Resources. • Le invitamos a que hable con la Senor Martin Mahan si usted tiene alguna pregunta sobre las capacitaciones profesionales de los maestros o asistentes de maestros de sus hijos.

Website Design by The Richland Group | Programming by Jamell Digital, Inc. | Site Login